Tags

, , , , , , ,

So … I recently went on a Georgette-Heyer’s-detective-novels binge. Consequently, this is Quotable post number two (see the first here). I’ve got three books beside me which have several pieces of a Holland and Barretts’ bag, one receipt and one piece of notepaper all torn up and all marking numerous amusing passages.

Here are a handful of them:

32313Don’t you suggest such a thing!’ said Ermyntrude, quite horrified. ‘Why, her father would turn in his grave – well, as a matter of fact, he was cremated, but what I mean is, if he hadn’t been he would have.

So long!’ replied Wally, adding when his guest was out of earshot: ‘And if you have a head-on collision with a steam-roller it’ll be all right with me!311208

 

No. He just ran through Roget’s Thesaurus for synonyms of Scoundrel, and put them all into the letter.

311180Very nice,’ said Sally. ‘You’ve been reading my books. But let me tell you that I’m not a believer in these sudden flashes of brilliance on the part of murderers. When I think out a bit of dazzling ingenuity for my criminal to indulge in, it usually costs me several hours of brain-racking thought.

